Set the World on Fire Challenge – Day 7 – Spotlight: Lecrae

Set the World on Fire – Day 7

Today marks one week of the Set the World on Fire Challenge! We are proud of you! Stay in the fight, y’all! Stay woke.

I wanted to wait until next week to write this piece, but since Lecrae launched the #SayIWont video contest I found it only fitting that I take a moment away from petitioning the saints to praise a world changer who is Setting the World on Fire. Don’t think you’re off the hook, saints. I’m still coming for y’all next Sunday!

Lecrae Moore, simply known as Lecrae, is the change..

I am a concert goer. I love concerts. I will spend a cute coin on concert tickets. I enjoy traveling to different cities to go to concerts. I think I love concerts more than I love cake and I really, really love cake. I also love Jesus. I love unconventional, nontraditional Jesus. I love the Jesus in the book of John. I love the Jesus who most people know nothing about. I love relationship with Jesus. I love concerts that speak about Jesus.

With all of that being said, a few weeks ago I attended the last concert on the Anomaly tour. This show combined my love for the energy of a concert and my love for unconventional, nontraditional, not confined within the four walls of the church with stained glass windows, Jesus.

Lecrae absolutely blew my mind.

We heard from the heart of Lecrae Moore that night. We heard his story. We heard his hurts. We heard his regrets. We heard his downfalls. We heard his triumphs. We learned that a police officer not only allowed Lecrae to live after he terrorized people in his neighborhood with a pellet gun, but this officer also encouraged Lecrae to find out about unconventional, nontraditional Jesus. Lecrae did not take that lightly. He dug into the dusty Bible that he hadn’t read in years and became the change.

Days after that concert was over, I was still energized. Then Lecrae continued to light me on fire. As our country continues to decline, Lecrae has unapologetically spoken out about the injustice in our un-United States. He has blatantly called a thing a thing and spoke the forbidden word that America and the westernized American church refuses to hear, “Racism.” Lecrae has burned our ears with the truth of the gospel and the truth of injustice. Lecrae continues to challenge us to put feet to our faith.

That is my challenge for every person with a beating heart. Empathy is a quality that is lost. I am studying to be a counselor and each course, each book, and each study that I have read focuses on empathy and how to employ that quality into our counseling philosophy, our therapeutic sessions, and our lives. With empathy, you feel the heartbreak of Tamir Rice’s parents. You feel the heartbreak of each Eric Garner’s six children. You feel the heartbreak of Mike Brown’s family.

With empathy, you can’t breathe.

With empathy, you stay woke.

With empathy, you set the world on fire.

We have to have faith that change can happen in our country and in our world. We have to have faith that our efforts, though they may seem insignificant, can make a difference. We have to have faith and we also have to work.

Do I have to continue to quote that faith without works is dead?

I have said this time and time again; social media activism is not enough. It’s a start, but it’s not the end. We have to saturate our communities with our empathy. Fill our communities with our faith. Work in our communities to rebuild, restructure and bring change.

Set the World on Fire.

As a professing and practicing Christian, I don’t believe that this is the way that our God intended for our world to be. I don’t believe that this is how He commissioned His people to live.  But I do believe that he has given us intelligence, resources, dreams and visions to fix the unfixable; to change the unchangeable; to bring light to the injustice in this country in order to ignite justice.

Lecrae started a #SayIWont Video Contest that encouraged people to upload a 15 second video of them spreading love, doing random acts of kindness, and being different!

In the words of the artist himself, “Why y’all scared to be different?”

Why?

We aren’t.

You can check my #SayIWont video on Instagram. Here are a few of the statements that we’ve used in the past two days:

#SayIWont do an interview on police brutality and oppression for presstv.

#SayIWont sell T-Shirts and donate the money.

#SayIWont do a die-in and protest in the rain (and get my weave messed up). #nojusticenoweave

#SayIWont organize a march in my community.

#SayIWont be the change I want to see.

#SayIWont set the world on fire.

Say we won’t.

We will, but only if we work. Only if we put effort behind our words. Only if we put feet to our faith.

Thank you for challenging us, Lecrae. Thank you for speaking the truth in love. Thank you for being different. Thank you for being the change. Thank you for setting the world on fire.

Say I won’t (why y’all scared to be different?). Say I won’t (we them outsiders, that’s just how we live it). Say I won’t (and I bet I will). I might do it just to show you. Thinking you’ll stop me, no never not letting you. You must be high on that medical thinking I won’t. But I know better, know that I bet I do. Say I won’t..– Lecrae

-Tashara

Leave a Reply

